Yep. I think that just about sums me up, but if you want to know more, then do keep scrolling, as below I have gathered a few more things you might want to know as you puzzle your way through the blog, so I have introduced the family cast, added a resume of sorts and shared my favourite things.

Above all else I want you know  that I am just like you: I get muddled and get things wrong. My mood varies and while I'm usually a domestic Goddess, I occasionally lapse into Waynetta Slob category because some days life is for living, not cleaning!

I am a total homebird, cherish my lovely community here at BrocanteHome and truly believe we can change the world, one home at a time.

The Cast


Ste is my partner and best friend of six years. Just turned fifty, I can't think of anyone who works harder at life and I love and respect him so very much for enduring what he has. All that and we giggle like naughty schoolkids all day long. And he needs to stop snoring or I am likely to strangle him in his sleep.


My absolute favourite person on the planet. Finn is my seventeen year old son and he is a total, busy riot of pure joy, intelligence and conversation. So totally his own person, he is everything and more, his lovely Dad and I  hoped he would be. But he talks too much. Let it be known: this child talks too much!


Gorgeous Stevie, is Ste's fifteen year old son and he is, to coin a phrase, a chip off the old block: quiet, sporty, witty, and just on the verge of becoming his own (wonderful) man. He stays with us every other weekend and we wish every time that we could keep him for always. But he probably relishes going home for the peace and quiet!

Frequently Asked Questions

Who Am I?

I'm a 49 year old, probably neurodiverse, vintage housekeeping loving, Hashimoto's enduring, bookworm with an over-sized bottom, a penchant for marmite and cucumber bagels, and a deep-rooted admiration of Russel Brand.

I am ludicrously fussy about what I do and don't like, love every house I live in like it's one of my children, am loyal to the point of preposterous, and like nothing better than an afternoon alone in the company of Agatha Raisin and a tin of shortbread.

Where Do I Live?

After I sold the tiny cottage that features in many of the stories in the BrocanteHome archives, we moved from Aughton, to Burscough in West Lancashire and now live in a rented, much bigger semi-detached Victorian house with a conservatory that finds us doing far more bird-watching than can surely be healthy for a couple our age,

The house has high-ceilings and quirky little outhouses, a personality of its own and a frankly ugly, mint green kitchen I barely acknowledge.

I never want to move, so will hopefully persuade our lovely landlords to sell it to us in the near future.

What Is My Background

My degree is in communications and art and though much has changed since I attended university, I do believe blogging marries the two rather perfectly...

I have always worked for myself: before Brocantehome I had a gorgeous little interiors shop and made a living as a decorative painter transforming furniture and walls with whimsical painting - heavy on cherubs and angels back in the 1990's!

I started Brocantehome shortly after Finley was born because I was frustrated by my customers hopes that I could transform their lives by painting their walls and had come to understand that there is so much more to making a home. And so the site was born just after Finley was diagnosed with Coeliac's Disease and I so very much wanted to be able to stay at home and create a life for us.

Sixteen years later, BrocanteHome is still going strong, and I am so grateful to all those of you who have supported me through these occasionally tumultuous years!

My Favourite Things

Simple Abundance by Sarah Ban Breathnach. Rose and Violet Cremes - one a day, every evening. Cushions. I can't get enough of them. Bird-watching while I sip a cup of mint tea. Cozy mysteries like the Lady Hardcastle series. Magazines. Mostly enjoyed on Readly. Feta cheese. Blue cheese. Yup. Cheese full stop. Pottering in the garden. Early nights reading by candlelight. Baths in lavender magnesium. Junk shops. Gardening programs. Forest walks. And more. So very much more....